Tuesday, May 5, 2009


For those of you that know me personally you already know that Chromatics has been my favorite band since I was 15. So for this post I've decided to share demos, live sessions, and songs that Chromatics have contributed for compilations. I'm only going share rare, hard to find tracks from the band, I won't upload any albums that are available for purchase.

Track Listing:
1. Antena - On the Boat (Chromatics Remix)

2. Curtains [Plaster Hounds era)
3. Fork YR Tongue [Chrome Rats era]
4. I Wanna Be Your Dog (Live) [Chrome Rats era)

DEMOS [Songs the band posted for download on their myspace page]
Track Listing:
1. Pornography

2. House of Models

3. Ice Hatchets
4. Lady

5. My Only Love

6. Program 1

7. Program

8. Witness

LIVE (01-25-03)
Track Listing:

1. Chalk Dust (Holy Water)

2. Ice Hatchets

3. Curtains
4. Untitled #1

5. Beach of Infants
6. Untitled #2

7. Love You

8. Fertile Future

Adam Miller - Vocals, Guitar, Bass
Nat Sahlstrom - Bass, Guitar

Track Listing:
1. Healer
2. Hands in the Dark
3. Ice Hatchets
4. Interview
5. Interview #2
6. Jade, Diamond, Rubies
7. Witness


Lena Okazaki - Vocals, Bass, Melodica
Adam Miller - Vocals, Guitar, Drum Programs



Never in my life did I ever think I was going to have a chance to see Tom Waits live. It was just something I accepted. Then the "Glitter and Doom" tour was announced and with Bush giving everyone that stimulus check, the timing couldn't of been more perfect. I even traveled to Florida, a state I always told myself I would never visit, to see Tom Waits in the flesh. I could seriously go on and on about how magical that show was but I have a couple more post I want to publish before the night begins.

I bring you here an audio documentation (in high quality!) of a night from the "Glitter and Doom" tour. Recorded live on the last night of the U.S. tour in Atlanta's Fox Theater. This was originally streamed on http://www.npr.org/templates/story/story.php?storyId=92916923 Here's a track by track mp3 version of it.


Track Listing:
1. Lucinda / Ain't Going Down to the Well
2. Down in the Hole
3. Falling Down
4. Chocolate Jesus
5. All the World Is Green
6. Cemetery Polka
7. Cause of It All
8. Such a Scream
9. November"
1o. Hold On
11. Black Market Baby
12. 9th and Hennepin
13. Lie to Me
14. Lucky Day
15. On the Nickel
16. Lost in the Harbor
17. Innocent When You Dream
18. Hoist That Rag
19. Make It Rain
20. Dirt in the Ground
21. Get Behind the Mule
22. Hang Down Your Head
23. Jesus Gonna Be Here
24. Singapore
25. Eyeball Kid
26. Anywhere I Lay My Head

Thursday, April 30, 2009


From the moment I first heard "Enmete" I knew I was going to love everything else Mulatu Astatke has released. This 10" ep, which I was lucky enough to find for 10 dollars!!!, was released on Soundway Records and is the best way to be introduce to the Ethiopian genius that is Mulatu Astatke.
This is a guy that once you hear him, you think to yourself "How is it that I've gone this long without knowing who this guys is!"
Highly Recommended!


Track Listing:
1. Enmete
2. Ebo Lala
3. Yekitir Tezeta
4. Asiyo Belema

Wednesday, April 29, 2009


When one thinks of the band Chromatics, they think of the italo/late night disco group fronted by the beautiful Ruth Radelet, but the band didn't start out sounding like this. It would be impossible to try to figure the band out based on their record label releases. They've gone from dirty/sassy/no-wave punk to danceable/Giorgio Moroder-inspired disco. They've also gone through many line-ups with Adam Miller being the only original member. To truly understand how they've transformed into the present-day Chromatics, you would have to listen to all of their self-released tour cd-r's. Since 2003, every time the Chromatics went on tour, they would sell cd-r's made specially for the tour.


Rat Life Vol. 1

Track Listing:

01. (Intro)
02. Ice Hatchets

03. Beach of Infants

04. Curtains
05. Jesus

06. Fertile Future
07. Love You

08. Crabs of Sunset
09. Three Hearts
10. In the Garden

11. Monarch

12. Thanks we're KRMTX

Adam Miller - Vocals, Guitar, Drum Programs,Percussions
Nat Sahlstrom - Bass

Rat Life Vol. 2

Track Listing:

01. Healer
02. Surrogate
03. Three Hearts
04. City Beds

05. Witness


Adam Miller - Vocals, Guitar, Bass, Percussion, Melodica, Drum Pograms

Nat Sahlstrom - Guitar, Bass, Drum Programs

Tour CD-R 2004

Track Listing:

01. Healer

02. Witness
03. Shining Violence
04. Ice Hatchets

05. City Beds


Lena Okazaki - Vocals, Bass, Melodica

Adam Miller - Vocals, Guitar, Drum Programs
Johnny Jewel - Piano, Drums, Arrangements

Unreleased TMU Sessions

Track Listing:

01. Jade, Diamonds, Rubies

02. Mannequin

03. Magic
04. Untitled #1

05. Hands in the Dark

06. Untitled #2

07. Nite Delivery

08. Witness (12" Instrumental Mix)
09. At the Door

10. Healer (12" Mix)


Lena Okazaki - Vocals, Bass, Melodica

Adam Miller - Vocals, Guitar, Drum Programs
Johnny Jewel - Piano, Drums, Arrangements

Shining Violence Demos

Track Listing:

01. Birds of Paradise

02. Nite

03. Mere Secret

04. Beach of Infants

05. The Guest

06. Date with a Vocoder
07. Glass Slipper
8. City Beds

Adam Miller - Vocals, Guitar

Lena Okazaki - Vocals, Bass

Johnny Jewel - Drums, Synthesizer

Fall 2006 Demos

Track Listing:
01. Shining Violence
02. In the City
03. Lady
04. Hotel
05. At the River
06. The Price of Love
07. Hands in the Dark
08. Icey Jungle
09. The Gemini
10. Animal Nitrate
11. Lanterns Flicker
12. The Wanderer
13. Shining Violence (Reprise)
14. Baby
15. The Guest

Adam Miller, Johnny Jewel,
Ruth Radelet

Chromatics Discography:
Beach of Infants 7" (
Hand Held Heart)
Cavecare EP
(Hand Held Heart)
Arms Slither Away 7" (K Records)
Chromatics/Die Monitr Batss split 7" (Gold Standard Labs)
Chrome Rats vs. Basement Ruts (Gold Standard Labs)
Ice Hatchets 7" (Gold Standard Labs)
Rat Life Vol. 1 (Self-Released)
Rat Life Vol. 2 (Self-Released)
Plaster Hounds (Gold Standard Labs)
Tour CD-R 2004 (Self-Released)
Unreleased TMU Sessions (Self-Released)
Healer 12" (Troubleman Unlimited)
Shining Violence Demos (Self-Released)
Nite EP (Troubleman Unlimited)
Fall 2006 Demos (Self-Released)
In the City 12" (Italians Do It Better)
Nite Drive (Italians Do It Better)

*I'll be uploading a video of an old chromatics show circa-2004 when i find the DVD*